Florida’s Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel has been named to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Wuerffel threw for over 10,870 yards and 114 touchdowns in a storied career for the Gators, for whom he won the Heisman Trophy in 1996.

Under Steve Spurrier’s offence, he won four straight SEC Championships for the Gators, but never the National Championship. After a mediocre-to-poor NFL career, he won’t be making the NFL Hall of Fame anytime soon.

Also making it from the SEC was Steve Meilinger, who played end at Kentucky from 1951-53.

Here is the full list of players who were voted into the 2012 College Hall of Fame  and congratulations to them all….

Stunningly, Eric Crouch, the 2001 Heisman-winning quarterback from Nebraska, Brian Bosworth, the great linebacker from Oklahoma, nor Eric Dickerson, the great running back during the controversial times at SMU was not voted in. Nor were nine SEC players, including the late, great Alabama linebacker Derrick Thomas.

-TED BROWN – TB, North Carolina State (1975-78)
· TEDY BRUSCHI – DE, Arizona (1992-95)
· RON DAYNE – RB, Wisconsin (1996-99)
· TOMMIE FRAZIER – QB, Nebraska (1992-95)
· JERRY GRAY – DB, Texas (1981-84)
· ORLANDO PACE – OT, Ohio State (1994-96)
· ROD SHOATE (deceased) – LB, Oklahoma (1972-74)
· PERCY SNOW – LB, Michigan State (1986-89)
· VINNY TESTAVERDE – QB, Miami, Fla. (1982, 1984-86)
· DON TRULL – QB, Baylor (1961-63)
* Selection from the FBS Veterans Committee


· WAYNE HARDIN – 118-74-5 (61.2%); Navy (1959-64) and   Temple (1970-82)

· BILL McCARTNEY – 93-55-5 (62.4%); Colorado (1982-94)

Be Sociable, Share!

Tagged with:

Filed under: AlabamaArkansasAuburnFloridaGeorgiaKentuckyLSUMississippi StatemissouriOle MissSouth CarolinaTennesseeTexas A&MVanderbilt

Like this post? Subscribe to my RSS feed and get loads more!