The quarterbacking foursome of the Four Ms lead SEC names invited to the NFL Combine.

Texas A&M’s Heisman winner Johnny Manziel, Alabama’s AJ McCarron, Georgia’s Aaron Murray and LSU’s Zach Mettenberger have all been invited to the Combine, which starts on February 19th. Connor Shaw at South Carolina has also been invited.

While Manziel, McCarron and Shaw will probably make the trip, it’s not certain if Murray and Mettenberger will have recovered enough from injuries they sustained at the end of the year to partake – which may drop their draft status, despite both players’ electric arms (Mettenberger’s particularly).

Auburn’s Tre Mason will be the one to watch from the running backs, while LSU has three running backs invited (Jeremy Hill, JC Copeland and Alfred Blue). LaDarius Perkins (Mississippi State) and Henry Josey (Missouri) were also given the nod. Stunningly, Jeff Scott of Ole Miss was not invited.

Of the wide receivers, Mike Evans, Johnny Manziel’s key receiver at Texas A&M was invited, as was LSU’s duo of Odell Beckham and Jarvis Landry got their invites. Vanderbilt’s cornerstone Jordan Matthews, Donte Moncrief (Ole Miss), Marcus Lucas (Missouri) and Kevin Norwood (Alabama) were all invitees.¬†Arthur Lynch (Georgia) and Trey Burton (Florida) were the only SEC invitees amongst the tight ends.

Of the offensive linesmen, almost every SEC school was represented. Here is the list in alphabetical order, but the list is highlighted by Alabama’s Cyrus Kouandjio, Texas A&M’s Jake Matthews, and Tennessee’s Antonio Richardson.

Justin Britt (OT), Missouri
Zach Fulton (G), Tennessee
Jon Halapio (G), Florida
Jonotthan Harrison (C), Florida
Gabe Jackson (G), Mississippi State
Ja’wuan James (OT), Tennessee
Wesley Johnson (OT), Vanderbilt
Cyrus Kouandjio (OT), Alabama
Jake Matthews (OT), Texas A&M
Antonio Richardson (OT), Tennessee
Greg Robinson (OT), Auburn
Anthony Steen (G), Alabama
James Stone (C), Tennessee
Travis Swanson (C), Arkansas
Trai Turner (G), LSU


Be Sociable, Share!

Tagged with:

Filed under: AlabamaArkansasAuburnFloridaGeorgiaKentuckyLSUMississippi StatemissouriOle MissSouth CarolinaTennesseeTexas A&MVanderbilt

Like this post? Subscribe to my RSS feed and get loads more!